Arne Saerens, Author at De Groote De Man
Menu

Arne Saerens, LL.M. graduated with honours in 2018 with a Master of Laws degree from the University of Ghent. Driven by his strong interest in intellectual property and the digital world, he also obtained a post-Master’s degree in IP & IT law from the KU Leuven in 2019.

Arne is intrigued by the legal fields of IP & IT because of their dynamics, their increasing importance in society and the many still unanswered questions that they raise. Especially when it comes to privacy and data protection. He is also fascinated by the legal implications of new technologies, such as big data and artificial intelligence.

At DGDM, Arne assists companies with the implementation of the GDPR and other privacy regulations. He also focuses on the legal aspects of e-commerce, IT contracts and intellectual property. Furthermore, due to the complementarity of our departments, he also specialises more generally in corporate law.

One of the things that appeals to me about DGDM is the fact that the firm is not afraid to explore technology’s potential to modernize the legal profession.

Outside of working hours, Arne relaxes by listening to music, with a preference for vintage music from the 1960s and later. Among his absolute favourites are Dire Straits, Elvis Presley and Roy Orbison.

Publications

Arne’s Master’s thesis “Kunnen platformen als YouTube en Facebook effectief aansprakelijk worden gesteld voor inbreuken die eigenlijk door de gebruikers gebeuren ?” (Can platforms such as YouTube and Facebook effectively be held liable for offences that are actually committed by the users?) was awarded the 2019 Pop Thesis Prize.

Expertises

Arne Saerens, Author at De Groote De Man
Menu

Me Arne Saerens a terminé son Master en droit avec distinction en 2018 à l’Université de Gand. Passionné par tout ce qui touche à la propriété intellectuelle et au monde digital, il a aussi terminé un Master de spécialisation en IP & IT law à la KU Leuven en 2019.

Arne est intrigué par les domaines du droit IP & IT en raison de leur dynamique, de leur importance toujours plus grande dans la société et des nombreuses questions, toujours sans réponse, que cela engendre, en particulier en ce qui concerne le respect de la vie privée et la protection des données. Il est aussi passionné par les implications juridiques des nouvelles technologies, comme le big data et l’intelligence artificielle.

La mission d’Arne au sein du cabinet DGDM consiste à aider les entreprises dans l’implémentation du RGPD et des autres règles de protection de la vie privée. Il se concentre également sur les aspects juridiques de l’e-commerce, des contrats ICT et de la propriété intellectuelle. Il en profite aussi pour se spécialiser, grâce à la complémentarité entre nos différents départements, en droit des affaires.

Ce qui me plaît notamment chez DGDM, c’est le fait que le cabinet n’hésite pas à chercher lui-même les possibilités que la technologie peut proposer pour moderniser la profession d’avocat.

En dehors du travail, Arne se détend en écoutant de la musique, avec une préférence pour les années 60. Arne est plus particulièrement fan de Dire Straits, Elvis Presley et Roy Orbison.

Publications

Le mémoire de master d’Arne, intitulé « Kunnen platformen als YouTube en Facebook effectief aansprakelijk worden gesteld voor inbreuken die eigenlijk door de gebruikers gebeuren ? » (Des plateformes comme YouTube et Facebook peuvent-elles effectivement être tenues responsables des violations commises par les utilisateurs ?) a été récompensé par le Popthesisprijs 2019.