Menu

Mr. Kris Du Bois is a lawyer at the bar of Brussels and teacher in real estate law at AMS –  UIA

Kris obtained a law degree with distinction from KUL. He then started his career as a lawyer in 1997 at the Dendermonde bar. Before the end of his internship, he set up his own law firm in his home port of Halle, south of Brussels. Kris was a founder and partner at Vanbelle & Du Bois from 1999-2014. This office became “Mister Wolf” in 2014, where he was a Managing Partner. Mister Wolf and De Groote – De Man have merged since 2020 and Kris is now a Partner at DGDM.

Kris has extensive and in-depth expertise in real estate law. During his years of experience, he assisted almost all players in that sector. That is how he started defending contractors, architects – including the Order of Architects – and builders. From that experience, Kris has a lot of technical background within the sector. He is also familiar with the world of real estate agents and notaries who experience problems in real estate transactions and where fast action is essential. Finally, he is also a sounding board for promoters and real estate investors, contacts in which his financial and strategic real estate knowledge is especially crucial.

In 2008 Kris refined practical real estate knowledge in the academic field with a Master After Master in “Real Estate and Finance (MRE)” at Antwerp Management School, the renowned business school of UIA University. He graduated with great distinction as the first of the academic year. Because of his knowledge and high result, the university nominated him in 2009 as a lecturer in Real Estate Law. To this day, Kris enthusiastically teaches AMS there. Sharing real estate knowledge with other teachers, specialists and students is a real passion.

As a lawyer, Kris has a second passion – besides real estate – to assist and unburden entrepreneurs! He is a true entrepreneur himself and understands and speaks the language of entrepreneurs like no other. For many SME managers, he supports and allows crucial decisions that often go beyond the purely legal.

Kris’s favorite motto is “Plus est en vous“. There is more in you than you (first) realize. His mission is to help clients, students and those around him to transcend themselves.

Kris built up a very large network during his career. He can often be found at networking events and is part of RES (the Real Estate Society). He is also an expert in the City of Halle and the Municipality of Affligem in the GeCoRo. He is also a director of Unizo Halle and Chairman of the VZW Ketel, which connects starters with vacant retail properties.

Despite his busy schedule and many activities, Kris is first and foremost the father of three children and partner of an equally busy physiotherapist, Anneke. His little spare time goes primarily to them, seaside weekends, travel, friends and restaurant visits. On a sporting level, Kris practices yoga, tennis or paddle every week … and is also a sports car enthusiast. Boys will be boys.

Menu

M. Kris Du Bois est avocat au barreau de Bruxelles et chargé de cours en droit immobilier à l’AMS – UIA.

Kris est titulaire d’un diplôme de droit de la KUL avec distinction. Il a ensuite commencé sa carrière d’avocat en 1997 au barreau de Termonde. Avant la fin de son stage, il a fondé son propre cabinet d’avocats dans sa ville natale, Halle, au sud de Bruxelles.  Kris a été fondateur et associé chez Vanbelle & Du Bois de 1999 à 2014. Ce cabinet est devenu « Mister Wolf » en 2014, où il était associé directeur. Depuis 2020, Mister Wolf et De Groote – De Man ont fusionné et Kris est un partenaire de DGDM.

Kris possède une expertise vaste et approfondie en matière de droit immobilier. Au cours de ses nombreuses années d’expérience, il a assisté presque tous les acteurs de ce secteur. À l’époque, il a commencé à défendre les entrepreneurs, les architectes – y compris l’Ordre des architectes – et les propriétaires de bâtiments. D’après cette expérience, Kris a une grande expérience technique dans le secteur. Il connaît également le monde des courtiers immobiliers et des notaires qui rencontrent des problèmes dans les transactions immobilières et où il est essentiel d’agir rapidement. Enfin, il est également une caisse de résonance pour les promoteurs et les investisseurs immobiliers, des contacts dans lesquels ses connaissances financières et stratégiques en matière d’immobilier sont cruciales.

En 2008, Kris a affiné ses connaissances pratiques en immobilier au niveau académique avec un Master en « Immobilier et Finance (MRE) » à la Antwerp Management School, la célèbre école de commerce de l’Université UIA. Il a obtenu son diplôme avec grande distinction en tant que premier de l’année universitaire. En raison de ses connaissances et de ses résultats élevés, l’université l’a nommé en 2009 comme maître de conférences en droit immobilier. Aujourd’hui encore, Kris enseigne à l’AMS avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme. Partager ses connaissances sur l’immobilier avec d’autres professeurs, spécialistes et étudiants est une véritable passion.

En tant qu’avocat, Kris a une deuxième passion en plus de l’immobilier : aider et soutenir les entrepreneurs ! Il est lui-même un véritable entrepreneur et comprend et parle la langue des entrepreneurs comme personne d’autre. Pour de nombreux dirigeants de PME, il est un soutien et un refuge pour des décisions cruciales qui dépassent souvent le cadre purement juridique.

La devise préférée de Kris est « Plus est en vous« . Il y a plus en soi que vous ne le pensez. Sa mission est d’aider les clients, les étudiants et les personnes qui l’entourent à se transcender.

Kris s’est constitué un très large réseau au cours de sa carrière. On peut souvent le trouver lors d’événements de réseautage et il est membre de RES (la société immobilière). Il est également expert auprès de la ville de Halle et de la municipalité d’Affligem dans le cadre du GeCoRo. Il est également directeur de l’Unizo Halle et président de l’ASBL Ketel, qui met en relation les jeunes entreprises avec les locaux commerciaux vacants.

Malgré son emploi du temps chargé et ses nombreuses activités, Kris est avant tout père de trois enfants et partenaire d’une physiothérapeute tout aussi occupée, Anneke. Son temps libre leur est consacré principalement, les week-ends au bord de la mer, les voyages, les amis et les visites au restaurant. En sport, Kris pratique le yoga, le tennis ou le padel chaque semaine… et il aime aussi les voitures de sport. Boys will be boys.